International Summerschool German (and) Theology

3.6.-13.7.2018

In June and July 2018 the International Summer School German and Theology does take place for the fourth time at the Faculty of Protestant-Theology of the Johannes Gutenberg-University Mainz. Post graduates of theology are enabled to get deeply in touch with the language, thinking and the intellectual world of German theology even if they have only a basic command of German.

In addition to lectures and workshops in English there will be a thorough introduction into theological German as it is impossible to get a comprehensive understanding of the German theological discourse without it. The objective is to provide young international academics with an intimateness with German theology.
The curriculum is complemented with excursions to central sites of the German theological and ecclesiastical history located near Mainz. Furthermore all participants may attend the lectures of the Faculty of Protestant Theology in order to get an impression of the teaching programme of one of the leading German theological faculties. Libraries and further academic institutions are open for the participants research work.
International Summer School is a course of studies provided by the Faculty of Protestant Theology (FB 01) in liaison with the Centre for Continuing Education (ZWW) and DaF - German as Second Language, Department FB 05, in cooperation with the School of Divinity, University of St. Andrews/UK.

Requirements

  • A first degree in Theology or a similar subject
  • Good command of English
  • Basic knowledge of German

Structure

  • A schedule of courses which does quality for 6 ECTS
  • Accommodation with a German host family or in a hall of residence/dorm
  • Excursios (entrance fees and travel expenses)
  • Certificate of Johannes Gutenberg-University Mainz for the attendance at the International Summer School

It is possible to apply for a scholarship, which will cover part of the course fee.

Further information: http://www.patristik.de/Summerschool.html

International Summerschool German (and) Theology

03.-21. Juli 2017

Im Juli 2017 lädt die Evangelisch-Theologische Fakultät der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz zum dritten Mal zu einer dreiwöchigen internationalen Summer School für Postgraduierte ein, die Theologinnen und Theologen (auch mit geringen Deutschkenntnissen) ein intensives Eintauchen in Sprache, Denken und Geisteswelt der deutschen Theologie ermöglicht.


Neben Vorlesungen und Workshops in englischer Sprache gibt es eine intensive Einführung in das theologische Deutsch, ohne das ein vertieftes Verständnis des deutschen theologischen Denkens nicht möglich ist. Ziel ist es, internationalen Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftlern eine Vertrautheit mit der deutschen Theologie zu verschaffen, die großen Gewinn für ihre weitere wissenschaftliche Laufbahn verspricht.


Ergänzt wird die Lehre durch ein Exkursionsprogramm zu zentralen Orten der deutschen Theologie- und Kirchengeschichte in der Nähe von Mainz. Außerdem können alle Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer an den Vorlesungen der Ev.-Theol. Fakultät teilnehmen und einen Eindruck vom Lehrbetrieb an einer führenden deutschen theologischen Fakultät gewinnen. Auch die Bibliotheken und sonstige Einrichtungen stehen für eigene Recherchen uneingeschränkt zur Verfügung.


International Summerschool German (and) Theology ist ein Lehrprojekt der Evangelisch-Theologischen Fakultät im FB 01 in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Zentrum für Wissenschaftliche Weiterbildung und DaF – Deutsch als Fremdsprache, FB 05 in Kooperation mit der School of Divinity, University of St. Andrews/UK.

Voraussetzungen

  • ein erster Universitätsabschluss in Theologie oder einem verwandten Fach
  • gute Englischkenntnisse
  • erste Grundkenntnisse in deutscher Sprache

Struktur

  • Unterricht im Umfang von 6 ECTS 
  • Unterkunft in Gastfamilien vor Ort
  • Exkursionen (Fahrtkosten und Eintrittsgelder) 
  • JGU-Zertifikat über die Teilnahme an der Summerschool

Teilnahmegebühren

Die Teilnahmegebühr beträgt EUR 1.200,--.
Es besteht, die Möglichkeit, sich um ein Stipendium zu bewerben, das einen Teil der Kosten abdeckt.
Anmeldeschluss ist der 1. Mai 2017.

Anmeldung ab jetzt möglich über den Seminarshop des ZWW.

Weitere Informationen unter http://www.patristik.de/Summerschool.html.